Skip to content

College of Nursing

iCON | Intranet for the College of Nursing
iCON | Intranet
An icon representing iCON, the Intranet for the College of Nursing


Nearly two dozen Spartan Nurses to present or receive awards at MNRS


The 48th Annual Research Conference of the Midwest Nursing Research Society will witness a significant representation from the Michigan State University College of Nursing. Recognized as the foremost regional nursing conference in the Midwest, this event, set to take place in Minneapolis this year. Attracts more than 900 participants annually. 

“This conference is a great opportunity for both students and faculty to network with other regional colleagues.” said Dr. Susan Buchholz, associate dean for research. “We look forward to presenting on behalf of the university and showcasing our impact in nursing research.”  

The college will be well represented with 22 of the presentations being MSU faculty and students. Additionally, four members of the college will be recognized and honored with awards. 

Full list of presenters and awardees at this year’s MNRS Annual Conference: 


  • Palliative & End-of-Life RIIG Student Award: PhD student Arienne Patano 

  • Health Promoting Behaviors Across the Lifespan RIG — Graduate Research Award: PhD student Callie Harris- 

  • Health Promoting Behaviors Across the Lifespan RIIG — Senior Investigator Award: Dr. Jiying Ling 

  • Academic-Clinical Partnership RIIG Outstanding Partnership Award: Dr. Kathleen Poindexter 

  • MNRS Perinatal, Sexual, and Reproductive Health RIIG - 2023-2024 Mid-Career Investigator Award - Dr. Joanne Goldbort


Posters and Presentations:  


Dr. Ann Annis 

Dr. Veronica Bernacchi 

Dr. Susan Buchholz 

Dr. Dawn Goldstein 

Dr. Tsui-Sui Kao 

Dr. Rebecca Lehto 

Dr. Jiying Ling 

Dr. Cheng-Ching Liu 

Dr. Fabrice Mowbray 

Dr. Lorraine Robbins 

Dr. Patricia West 

Dr. Horng-Shiuann Wu 



Mohammed Alanazi, PhD ‘23 

Autumn Ashley 

Grace Caldwel 

Callie Harris 

Loveleen Kaur 

Teresa Ng 

Arienne Patano 

Hesam Varpaei 

Allison Walsh 

Joshua Winowiecki