Skip to content

College of Nursing

iCON | Intranet for the College of Nursing
iCON | Intranet
An icon representing iCON, the Intranet for the College of Nursing


Two faculty honored as fellows


Two faculty members at the Michigan State University College of Nursing were recently honored by prominent organizations.

Associate Professor Rebecca Lehto is a recipient of the 2024 Distinguished Award for Consistent Contribution to Nursing Literature from the Oncology Nursing Society. Her program of research focuses on psychological adaptation and improving quality of life of cancer patients, and more recently, their informal caregivers. Lehto has more than 80 peer-reviewed manuscripts; 48 published journal abstracts, patient education publications, nursing news articles; reviews for 70 journals; membership on 6 editorial review boards; tenure review evaluations for oncology nursing faculty across the United States; extensive media dissemination; and grant review write-ups (refer to CV). Her work has been cited more than 2,400 times.

In addition, Lehto has been named a fellow in the American Psychosocial Oncology Society, joining the college’s University Distinguished Professor Barbara Given and Professor Emerita Gwen Wyatt. Lehto was one of only four to receive the honor this year. She will be inducted in March at the society’s annual conference in New Mexico.

“I am humbled to receive both these honors,” Lehto said. “I am committed to and will continue to advocate for the society via recruitment activities, mentorship, research dissemination, leadership, and service.”

CNS Program Director Named a Fellow

Assistant Professor Jackie Iseler has been named a fellow in the Clinical Nurse Specialist Institute. The organization honors those who have made “outstanding contributions” as a CNS. Iseler will be inducted at a ceremony in March.

“Being a Fellow of the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists is an honor,” said Iseler, director of the Clinical Nurse Specialist Program. “I will continue to advocate for the clinical nurse specialist and our contributions to improving healthcare outcomes. We do this through direct patient care, advancing nursing practice, and applying evidence-based practice, quality improvement, and research.”

Dean Leigh Small said the recent honors reflect the passion and hard work that Lehto and Iseler bring to their positions.

“Both Drs. Lehto and Iseler are well respected in their fields and very deserving of these accolades. It is a tribute to their work that their peers have recognized them in this way for their invaluable contributions to the profession of nursing and nursing science,” Small said. “We are very proud to call them Spartan Nurses!”